Events

June 11, 2022

Markets for the Masses: Popularization and Contestation of Economic Knowledge”

Workshop organized by network members Simone Knewitz and Elisabeth Reichel for the 68th German Association for American Studies (DGfA) Conference “Political Education and American Studies” at the University of Tübingen, June 9-11, 2022. 

08:30-11:30 am (Brechtbau, Room 10)

Chairs

Simone Knewitz (Bonn)

Elisabeth Reichel (Osnabrück)

Talks

James Dorson (Berlin/München)

“The Business Romance as Business Model in the Progressive Era”

Sabrina Czelustek (Hannover)

“Seen through a Prism: Financial and Cultural Economy in Hannah Höch’s Photomontages”

A. Elisabeth Reichel (Osnabrück)

“Making Economic Liberalism New: Collectivist Morality and White Femininity in Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged

Torsten Kathke (Mainz)

“The Market as a Non-Capitalist Ideal: Educating for Neoliberalism in Alvin Toffler’s The Third Wave

Barbara Straumann (Zürich)

“‘It is all a fugazi’: Representing Economic Knowledge in Wall Street Films”

Damien B. Schlarb (Mainz)

“‘Don’t Look Too Close’: Big Tech and the Rhetoric of Economic Disruption in Films and Videogames”

Past Events

May 13-14, 2022

“Economics, Models, Narrative”
Online Workshop with Jane Elliott (King’s College London) and Mary Morgan (LSE)

Mary Morgan (LSE) will be speaking on May 13 at 9am EST (2pm GMT/3pm CET) about “Narrative Practices with Models.”

Jane Elliott (King’s College London) will hold her talk, Live Models and the Agony of Allocative Choice,” on May 14 at 8am EST (1pm GMT/2pm CET). 

Both talks will be followed by a Q&A.

The lectures will be held on Zoom and all are welcome to attend. Please use this form to register for one or both events. You will receive a Zoom link closer to the date.

For questions or concerns, please email Carolin Benack at carolin.benack@duke.edu.

The event is co-sponsored by Duke’s Center for Interdisciplinary Studies in Science and Cultural Theory.

December 9-10, 2021

Opening workshop of the network (Streamed Live)

December 95:30 – 7:00 p.m. (CET)

Matthias Erdbeer (Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster): “Notes on Modelling: A Poetics of Conceptual Representation”

Friday, December 10, 11:00 – 12:30 p.m. (CET)

Leigh Claire La Berge (City University of New York) “Decommodified Labor: Work and Culture after the Wage”